Mohammedan beat Morning Star Club to begin Independence Cup campaign

NAGAON, ASSAM: Mohammedan Sporting Club began their campaign in the 70th All India Independence Cup with a 1-0 win over K.A. Morning Star Club on Saturday at the Nurul Amin Stadium in Nagaon, Assam. Philip Adjah Tetteh scored the only goal in the 38th minute.

Mohammedan SC exerted pressure right from the start while Morning Star took time to settle. Nevertheless, Morning Star had a clear look at the Mohammedan SC goal in the 19th minute but keeper Priyant Singh did well to clear the danger.

Black Panthers, on the other hand, were creating some fantastic openings but their attackers ran short of ideas on reaching the Morning Star territory.

Having created some half chances till the half hour mark, Mohammedan SC almost took the lead in the 31st minute when Adjah found himself clear inside the box. The move began with David Asamoah finding Prosenjit Chakraborty clear on the right who cut back outside the box to Adjah. The striker beat his marker to get into the box but fired inches wide from close range.

The constant pressure by Mohammedan SC paid off as they finally broke the deadlock through Adjah, who slotted from Mohammad Amirul’s pass to give Mohammedan SC a 1-0 lead at half-time.

The second-half was a similar story as Mohammedan SC dominated majority of the proceedings. While Black Panthers pushed up front, close chances fell for Adjah, Amirul, Snehasish Dutta and Sumit Ghosh but they lacked killer finish in the final third.

Despite creating numerous scoring opportunities it was lack of finishing that prevented a bigger scoreline as the game ended 1-0 in Mohammedan SC’s favour.

“Credit to the boys they have done well as they followed what we told them to do. We needed to be solid at the back and also create a decent amount of chances ourselves. We got the three points and will continue on in the tournament,”  coach Raghunath Nandi said.

Mohammedan SC XI: Priyant Singh, Debasish Pradhan, Prosenjit Paul, Seydou Maddy, Kamran Farooque, Satyam Sharma, Snehasish Dutta (Sumit Ghosh), Prosenjit Chakraborty, David Asamoah, Philip Adjah, Mohammad Amirul (Laltu Hembram).

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *