Mohammedan SC footballers shines in Bengal’s first Santosh Trophy triumph in six years

GOA: Mohammedan Sporting Club’s Rana Gharami, Manvir Singh, Sankar Roy, Mumtaz Akhtar and Sheikh Faiaz put on an excellent show to help Bengal clinch the title in the 71st National Football Championship for 2017 Santosh Trophy, what was their first win in the tournament since 2011.

In the showpiece final at the GMC Athletics Stadium in Goa, Bengal overcame hosts Goa 1-0 in extra-time. In an end-to-end battle either side could not break the deadlock as the game ended goalless at the end of normal time and Manvir scored the decisive goal in the 119th minute to seal victory for Bengal. 

Meanwhile, all five Mohammedan Sporting Club footballers played an important part for Bengal throughout the tough campaign contributing heavily in all games.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *