Thu. Dec 9th, 2021

Mohammedan Sporting Club

Official Website

The Club

Mohammedan Sporting Club, one of the oldest and most prestigious football clubs in Asia, was founded originally in 1887 under the leadership of Nawab Aminul Islam as ‘Jubilee Club’. Later it was renamed as ‘Crescent Club’, which was again changed to ‘Hamidia Club’. Finally in 1891, the club was named as the ‘Mohammedan Sporting Club’.

Mohammedan Sporting Club is one of the most popular football clubs in India with a support base in all parts of the country. The club currently plays in the 2nd Division I-League and premier division of Calcutta Football League.

Mohammedan Sporting Club was the first Indian Club to win CFL in 1934 and continued their run till 1938 season. Before Independence, numerous triumph against British teams earned the club huge support from all Indian. Mohammedan Sporting Club became the entity against British oppression and the support continued even after Independence. The club also became the first Indian club to win Durand Cup in 1940. After Independence, the club also became the first Indian club to win on foreign soil by lifting Aga Khan Gold Cup in 1960.

The club enjoys rivalries with Mohun Bagan and East Bengal and three of these clubs of Kolkata is tagged as “Big Three Club”.