Thu. Dec 9th, 2021

Mohammedan Sporting Club

Official Website

I-League Set For A Reboot In Kolkata

1 min read

Kolkata: I-League is going to be held once again in Kolkata. Like the previous season, this time too the entire league is going to be held in Kolkata. The league committee of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) reached the decision in a meeting held through video conferencing on Saturday.

This year 13 teams will be participating in the I-League. Every team will play against each other once in the preliminary stage. The next round of the league will be held in two groups based on the points earned in the preliminary stage. Like last time, the top teams will compete for the title, while bottom teams will battle to avoid relegation.

The top seven teams in the league table will compete for the championship. This time the number of matches is also being increased as compared to last time. Where last time 80 matches were played, this time it is being increased to 114.

AIFF Senior Vice President Subrata Dutta, General Secretary Kushal Das, CEO Sunanda Dhar and others sat in a meeting on Saturday before taking the decision. After that meeting, it was told that this year’s I-League would start in mid-December.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *