Mohammedan Sporting Club bestow the honour of the Shan-e-Mohammedan on Victor Amalraj

KOLKATA: Mohammedan Sporting Club on Saturday bestowed the honour of the Shan-e-Mohammedan to Club legend Mr. Victor Amalraj for his overall contributions towards the Club.

The Shan-e-Mohammedan is the Lifetime Achievement Award of Mohammedan Sporting Club, which is awarded annually to respect and laud indispensable contribution of football players to the club.

“I am extremely honored to be receiving such an prestigious award. As a player, you never really thought of awards. As long as we got a win that was the most important thing for me.” said Amalraj.

His glittering statistics have earned him a place among the all time greats of Indian football, but his team-mates contributions to his own success were retold with vivid enthusiasm. 

“Let me tell you that it is not just my sole effort that has brought me here, it would not have been possible without the inspiration I have received from my team-mates. I sincerely thank everyone for helping me reach a stage where I can proudly hold up this award as a mark of my achievement.” Amalraj said after receiving the award and a sum of Rs. 1 lakh at the Iftar Party organized at Mohammedan Sporting Ground.

Amalraj, who captained Mohammedan Sporting in 1980, has spent six seasons with the Club and won several titles such as Federation Cup, Bordoloi Trophy, Rovers Cup, DCM Trophy, Sikkim Governors’ Gold Cup and Sait Nagjee Trophy.

Mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation Jb. Firhad Hakim and Shri. Sudip Bandopadhay, MP graced the occasion respectively as the Chief Guest and Guest of Honor.

Also present on the occasion were Subrata Mukherjee, Minister of Panchayats & Rural Development West Bengal Government, Smt. Sajda Ahmed MP, Smt. Nayna Bandopadhay MLA, Shri. Dipendu Biswas MLA beside Mohammedan Sporting Club Head Coach Shri. Subrata Bhattacharya, President Jb. Mohammed Amiruddin (Bobby), Working President Jb. Jameel Manzar, General Secretary Jb. Mohammed Qamaruddin, Assistant General Secretary Jb. Ishtiaque Ahmed, Football Secretary Jb. Sharique Ahmed, Ground Secretary Jb. Ghazal uz Zafar, Treasurer Jb. Shahid Rashid, Senior Official Jb. Iqbal Ahmed, General Manger Jb. Sk. Wasim Akram, Team Manager Jb. Belal Ahmed Khan and all other executive committee members.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *